# The 3 Branches of NC Government

# Executive



**WHAT:** This branch carries out—or enforces—our state's laws.

## WHO:

**Governor** (elected to 4-year terms by voters of entire state)

#### **Council of State**

Lieutenant governor and 8 other members (elected to 4-year terms by voters of entire state)

## Cabinet

10 members, who run state agencies (appointed by the governor)

# Legislative



**WHAT:** This branch makes laws for our state.

#### WHO:

**General Assembly** 

- House of Representatives
  120 members (elected to 2-year terms by voters in individual districts)
- Senate

50 members (elected to 2-year terms by voters in individual districts)

# **Judicial**



**WHAT:** This branch interprets and evaluates our state's laws.

# WHO:

**Supreme Court** 7 justices (judges) (elected to 8-year terms by voters of entire state)

## **Court of Appeals**

15 judges (elected to 8-year terms by voters of entire state)

**Superior Courts** 107 judges (elected to 8-year terms by voters in 48 districts)

## **District Courts** 273 judges (elected to 4-year terms by voters in 41 districts)

Image credits: Executive, North Carolina Museum of History; Legislative, North Carolina Museum of History; Judicial, NC Judicial Branch.