The North Carolina Museum of History Foundation Philanthropy Award was established to recognize individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions to the preservation, study, or understanding of North Carolina history.

Qualities honored by the North Carolina Museum of History Foundation Philanthropy award include providing visionary leadership in promoting the study and understanding of the history of North Carolina; deepening the understanding of, and appreciation for, the history of our State through excellence in writing or scholarship; and providing exceptional commitment, service, and support to one or more history museums, historic sites, or other repositories of the history of our State.

Previous Recipients include:

2022: 2018: 2015: 2012:

Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Neal Clinard

Dr. David Robert Hayworth*

Mr. Earl Johnson, junior*

Mr. and Mrs. Orris Temple Sloan, junior

Ann Baggett Goodnight

James Howard Goodnight

Betty Ray McCain*

BlueCross BlueShield of North Carolina

James Bradley Wilson

Anna Wood Ragland*

William Trent Ragland, junior*

Louise Robbins Broyhill

Senator James Thomas Broyhill*

Julia Jones Daniels

Frank Arthur Daniels, junior*

State Employees’ Credit Union Foundation

*In loving memory

If you would like to find out more about the Philanthropy Award Dinner, including the opportunity to co-host the event, sponsor, or attend the event, please contact Hunter Diamond at or 919.814.7077.